UK New Year Honours, 2022

Posted on: Saturday 1 January 2022
Author: FPM

The UK New Year Honours List 2022 features many individuals from the pharmaceutical and wider medical communities who have played key roles during the COVID-19 pandemic. Some of the selected honourees are listed below. We would like to congratulate all honourees for their richly deserved recognition.

New Year Honours List 2022

Knights Commander of the Order of Bath

Sir Patrick Vallance, UK Government Chief Scientific Advisor

Sir Chris Whitty, Chief Medical Officer for England

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire

Dame Jennifer Harries, Chief Executive, UK Health Security Agency

Dame June Raine, Chief Executive, Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

Dame Helen Stokes-Lampard, Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges

Knights Bachelor

Sir Francis Atherton, Chief Medical Officer, Welsh Government

Sir Jonathan Van-Tam, Deputy Chief Medical Officer

Sir Gregor Smith, Chief Medical Officer, Scottish Government

Some other notable awardees include:

Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour

Sir Paul Nurse


Nira Chamberlain OBE, President, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications

Dr Julia Thompson OBE, AstraZeneca’s executive director, biopharmaceutical development, research and development

Dr Ruth March OBE, AstraZeneca’s senior vice president, precision medicine and biosamples, research and development


Professor Peter Openshaw, Imperial College, London