

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine

FACULTY OF PHARMACEUTICAL MEDICINE 19 Angel Gate, 326a City Road, London, EC1V 2PT Reg. Company Number 6870644. Reg. Charity Number 1130573

Unconfirmed Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine, Royal College of Physicians, 11 St Andrews Place, London NW1 4LE on Wednesday 13 November 2019 at 15:30

1. Welcome

The President welcomed members to the meeting.

2. Observance of a period of silence in memory of members who have died Members present observed a period of silence in memory of Dr Christopher Drew FFPM Dr Anthony Flind FFPM, Dr William Shedden FFPM, Professor Tim Evans FFPM and Dr Richard Thomas.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies had been received from 10 members.

4. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 1 November 2018 These were approved as an accurate record of the meeting.

5. Trustee Elections and Appointments 2019

The Registrar advised that Dr Tim Crook has been appointed as the Treasurer from 13 November 2019, the Officers thanked Dr Chris Worth who stands down after serving two terms of office as Treasurer. Dr David Jefferys was appointed as a Fellow Trustee for a second term and Dr Lalitha Mahadavan was co-opted as a Trustee. The Officers thanked Professor Matthew Walters who stood down in July 2019 as the Parent College Trustee from RCP&S Glasgow.

6. Fellowship Committee 2019

6.1 Honorary Fellowship

The Registrar reported that Dr Sarah Branch, Professor Najah Hadi, Professor Peter Howarth, Professor Paul Jones, Dr Stuart Jones, Professor Andrew Krentz, Mr Keith McDonald, Professor Nick Morrell, Prof (Hon) Goonaseelan Pillai, Professor Steve Rennard, Professor Honorio Silva and Ms Kathryn Swanston were elected to Honorary Fellowship by the Board on 10 July 2019.

6.2 Membership by Distinction

The Registrar reported that Dr Assem el Baghdady was elected to Membership by Distinction by the Board on 10 July 2019.

6.3 Fellowship

The reported that Dr Paul Adams, Dr Chrisitan Agboton, Dr Anjan Banerjee, Dr Oluwakemi Bankole (Akinola), Dr Peter Basile, Dr Rohit Batta, Dr Timothy Cave, Dr Fiona Dunbar, Dr Rahul Ellahbadi, Dr Hosnieh Fathi, Dr Juleen Gayed, Dr Duncan Gould, Dr Paul Howarth, Dr Meena Jain, Dr Alistair McBride, Dr Oliseyenum Nwose, Dr Michael Richardson, Dr Prashanti Shah and Dr Subash Srinivasan were elected to Fellowship by the Board on 10 July 2019.

7. Resolution - Appointment of External Auditors for current financial year

Members present (21) and those who had voted by proxy (5) approved (26 for) the reappointment of Sayer Vincent as external auditors for the financial period 1 January 2019 to 31 December 2019 and to authorise the Board of Trustees to agree the level of remuneration.

Resolution - Proposed change to the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine's Articles of Association

Members present (21) and those who had voted by proxy (5) approved (23 for, 2 against and 1 abstain) the following amendment to the Articles of Association of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine. Article 1.9.3 is to be changed as follows:

[Membership is terminated if the individual concerned:]

Existing Article 1.9.3: "is more than twelve months in arrear in paying the relevant subscription, if any (but in such a case the member may be reinstated on payment of the amount due); or" is replaced by **New Article 1.9.3:** "is in arrear in paying the relevant subscription by more than the period stated in Regulations which must be not less than 3 months (but in such a case the member may be reinstated on the payment of the amount due); or"

8 President's Annual Address 2019

Professor Tim Higenbottam reported on the work of FPM and its achievements during the year and explored the topic 'Are we ready for *the* genomic and digital age?' which addressed the challenges faced by pharmaceutical physicians and how FPM is working to meet these challenges.

9. Open Session for Questions on Received Reports

A member asked how FPM plans to improve the financial sustainability of FPM. After a period of consultation, FPM is due to launch FPM's Strategy 2020-2022. This outlines the principle activities planned over the next two years as outlined in the President's address with the overriding objective being to ensure the long-term sustainability of FPM.

A member asked if FPM is planning to revisit the opening up of the membership to nonphysicians. The Officers confirmed this remains an objective for the Board of Trustees, however there where no plans to revisit this in the near future.

10. Any Other Business

None received.

11. Date of Annual General Meeting 2020 The date of the 2020 Annual General Meeting is to be announced.

12. Close of Proceedings

The President thanked those present for attending and closed the meeting.