Join the members group    Follow Us

History and Structure of FPM


In 1976, following a rapid growth in the 1950s, 60s and 70s of the use of pharmaceuticals in clinical medicine and the evolution and growth of the role of medical advisors in the pharmaceutical industry, the Royal Colleges of Physicians of Edinburgh, Glasgow and London established the first Diploma in Pharmaceutical Medicine to be gained by examination and a two year training course for 'pharmaceutical physicians'.

The rapid evolution of the pharmaceutical specialist, and the developing interface between pharmaceutical medicine and other medical disciplines, led to the idea of creating a Faculty within the three Royal Colleges of Physicians, so that criteria would be established resulting in specialist accreditation; thus serving public expectation that new medicines are developed, approved and monitored to the highest standards.

The Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine was established in 1989 as a Faculty of the three Royal Colleges of Physicians of the United Kingdom jointly, and appointed the first officers and Board Members of the Faculty. At the time of its inauguration, the Faculty comprised 400 members.

Please click here for a more in-depth article on the Faculty's history.

An archive of historical FPM documents can be found here.

In 2014 we celebrated the FPM's 25th birthday. Read more about the celebrations here.



The Board of Trustees is responsible for the governance and strategy of the Faculty. The Board is supported by its operational committees, their sub-committees and working groups and a small staff team.  

The Faculty's Honorary Officers, the President, Vice President, Registrar and Treasurer and other committee members are elected and nominated from the Faculty's general membership for a fixed term of office. The Faculty Board also has two lay trustees and a number of lay members on other committees.